11 September 2007

Cricket Twenty 20 Rules

Rules for the Twenty 20 cricket World Cup

Twenty over : Twenty 20 cricket match will have 20 over
The Free Hit : A 'no-ball' is worth 2 runs and along with that for each no ball, the bats man get a free hit. In the free hit the only way to makes the batsman out is run out. The fielding position can not change at the them of free hit.

Power to the umpires : umpires may award five runs to one of the teams playing the Twenty 20 cricket match, in case the umpires feel that the other team is needlessly wasting time.

Twenty overs within 75 minutes: if the blowing team cannot finish 20 overs in 75 minutes a bonus of 6 runs is awarded to the batting team in case the bowling team does not begin their 20th over before 75 minutes.Bowling restrictions of Twenty 20 cricket : bowlers can bowl a maximum of 4 overs

Fielding restrictions of Twenty 20 cricket : Fielding restrictions in the first six overs - 2 fielders outside circle with a minimum of two stationary fielders. Fielding restrictions for overs 7-20 - maximum five fielders allowed outside of circle.

Bowl-outs: If the semifinal and the final matches end in a tie, Bowl -out will be applied which is similar to the penalty shoot out in the cricket. Five bowlers from either team are allowed to bowl two balls at the wicket with no batsman at the crease. Who gets more wicket will win. (There is no Golden goal kind of rule in the 20 20 cricket)

Cricket Ball : White Kookaburra balls are to be used.

Twenty 20 Result : Each side must have faced (or had the opportunity to face) five overs in order to constitute a match. The Duckworth Lewis Method shall be used in interrupted matches.

Short Pitched Bowling: As in other one-day competitions, one short-pitched ball is allowed per over.

90 second: The next batsman has 90 second after the fall of a wicket to get to the crease.

Net Run Rate: A team's net run rate is calculated by deducting from the average runs per over scored by that team, the average runs per over scored against that team.

15 minutes : There is 15 minutes between innings.

More about Twenty20 cricket:
The true world tournament for the Twenty 20 cricket is happening now

Twenty20 cricket is a new format of the game, that is rapidly gaining in popularity. The inaugural International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 Tournament is to be played in South Africa in 2007, starting at the Wanderers ground, Johannesburg on Tuesday, 11 September 2007.
The competition will involve 12 nations, and be played over 13 days.
The final will also be held at the Wanderers on Heritage Day, Monday, 24 September 2007.
The tournament will be played in three venues around the country, the Wanderers, Johannesburg; Kingsmead, Durban and Newlands, Cape Town.

Twenty 20 cricket world cup schedule

Twenty 20 cricket First Semi-Final
First Session - 11.30am - 12.45pm
Interval - 12.45pm - 1.00pm
Second Session - 1.00pm - 2.15pm

Twenty 20 cricket Second Semi-Final
First Session - 3.00pm - 4.15pm
Interval - 4.15pm - 4.30pm
Second Session - 4.30pm - 5.45pm

Twenty 20 cricket Final
First Session - 7.15pm - 8.30pm
Interval - 8.30pm - 8.45pm
Second Session - 8.45pm - 10.00pm


  1. for live scores, just type cricket in google and hit enter key.

  2. what about the layout what is the cirtle for ??